Science Committees

SSC Online Application

Scientific & Statistical Committee Members are Economists, biologists, sociologists and natural resource attorneys who are knowledgeable about the technical aspects of fisheries in the Gulf of Mexico.

Socioeconomic Scientific & Statistical Committee Members are Sociologists and economists who advise the Council of the social and economic impacts of fishery management measures.

SSC Membership Information

Membership List Updated: 4/23/13

Standing SSC

Luiz Barbieri, Vice Chair

Harry Blanchet

Benjamin Blount

Shannon Cass-Calay

Bob Gill

Read Hendon

Walter Keithly

Kai Lorenzen

William Patterson, Chair

Sean Powers

Jim Tolan

John Ward

Elbert Whorton

Special Coral SSC

Sandra Brooke

Thomas Cuba

Walter Jaap

Judith Lang

Rob Ruzicka

Paul Sammarco

George Schmahl

Ecosystem SSC

Cameron Ainsworth, Vice Chair

Joan Browder

Columbus Brown

Bridgette Froeschke

Stephen Holiman

Tristan Kimbrell

Alan Matherne

Michael Schirripa

James Simons, Chair

Glenn Thomas

Wei Wu

Special Mackerel SSC

Jason Adriance

G. Erick Porche

Melissa Recks

Special Red Drum SSC

Jason Adriance

Mark Fisher

Matt Hill

Susan Lowerre-Barbieri

Elbert Whorton

James Tolan

Special Reef Fish SSC

Jason Adriance

Erik Broussard

Robert Ellis

Brooke Shipley-Lozano

John Mareska

Special Shrimp SSC

Martin Bourgeois

Traci Floyd

Ryan Gandy

Leslie Hartman

Alan Matherne

James Nance

Socioeconomic SSC

Lee Anderson

Matthew Freeman

Stephen Holiman

Stephen Holland

Steve Jacob

Mike Jepson

Walter Keithly

Sherry Larkin

Alexander Miller

Ken Roberts

Kurt Schnier

John Ward

David Yoskowitz

Special Spiny Lobster SSC

Rene Buesa

Ryan Gandy

John Hunt

Tom Matthews

SMZ Monitoring Team

Mike Buchanan

Jan Culbertson

Jon Dodrill

Mike Piccirilli

Pete Sheridan

Mark Sramek

Back to Top Back to Top

Persons are ineligible for membership on any committee or panel if that person has been convicted of a felony offense and may be disqualified if determined to have violated any federal or state marine resource law or regulation within the previous five years.